ARTHUR LANGERMAN FOUNDATION

The “Arthur Langerman Archive for the Study of Visual Antisemitism Foundation” (Arthur Langerman Foundation) oversees the extensive collection of visual antisemitica donated by its founder. It is committed to the humanistic-enlightenment ideals to which he has dedicated his life. The Arthur Langerman Foundation is administered in trust by Technische Universität Berlin and is based at the Center for Research on Antisemitism. It is a non-profit organization and makes its founder’s unique collection available for research, educational and exhibition purposes. It thus promotes the academic and educational examination and discussion of visual antisemitism.

The Collection

The Langerman Collection contains more than 8,000 objects of visual antisemitica from four centuries, originating from almost all European countries, the USA, Iran and North Africa. As an illustrated archive of the history of anti-Jewish animosity, it represents an unparalleled source of information.

About the Founder

Belgian Holocaust survivor Arthur Langerman has been collecting antisemitic images of various kinds for more than half a century. He sees them as obvious precursors to the National Socialist genocide of the Jews and as a warning for current and future generations.

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees of the Arthur Langerman Foundation steers the strategic development of the “Arthur Langerman Archive for the Study of Visual Antisemitism” (ALAVA). Its members, including Langerman, ensure that the foundation’s objectives are met.

I want my collection to be used for the practical purpose of educating people about the history and dangers of antisemitism, through academic research, education and exhibitions.

Arthur Langerman, 2020

Arthur Langerman Archive for the Study of Visual Antisemitism

In order to implement the goals of the Arthur Langerman Foundation, the “Arthur Langerman Archive for the Study of Visual Antisemitism” (ALAVA) is being established at the Center for Research on Antisemitism of Technische Universität Berlin. Its staff is responsible for the scientific, organizational, and administrative work of the Arthur Langerman Foundation as well as for the preservation, expansion, research, and running of the Langerman Collection. The staff also fields all questions regarding educational use of the collection.

Arthur Langerman Archive for the Study of Visual Antisemitism

In order to implement the goals of the Arthur Langerman Foundation, the “Arthur Langerman Archive for the Study of Visual Antisemitism” (ALAVA) is being established at the Center for Research on Antisemitism of Technische Universität Berlin. Its staff is responsible for the scientific, organizational, and administrative work of the Arthur Langerman Foundation as well as for the preservation, expansion, research, and running of the Langerman Collection. The staff also fields all questions regarding educational use of the collection.

Object of the Semester

Each semester, the Arthur Langerman Foundation will present an image, caricature or other object from the “Arthur Langerman Archive for the Study of Visual Antisemitism.” Focusing on this “Object of the Semester,” we analyze specific motifs, topoi, materials and manifestations of visual antisemitism, explain their historical background and outline their development and significance from past to present. Our purpose is to raise awareness about the role of anti-Jewish representations in the dissemination, entrenchment, and persistence of antisemitic prejudices and conspiracy fantasies, and sensitize the visitor to visual stereotypes. At the same time, this provides an insight into our diverse holdings and potential research avenues, in the hopes of awakening the interest of future users of the archive.

In Conversation with Arthur Langerman

error: Content is protected !!

ARTHUR LANGERMAN FOUNDATION

Die „Arthur Langerman Archive for the Study of Visual Antisemitism Foundation“ (Arthur Langerman Foundation) betreut die umfangreiche Sammlung visueller Antisemitika ihres Stifters. Sie ist den humanistisch-aufklärerischen Idealen ihres Namensgebers und dessen lebenslangem Engagement verpflichtet. Die Arthur Langerman Foundation wird treuhänderisch von der Technischen Universität Berlin verwaltet und hat ihren Sitz am Zentrum für Antisemitismusforschung. Sie ist gemeinnützig und stellt die einzigartige Sammlung ihres Stifters für Forschungs-, Bildungs- und Ausstellungszwecke zur Verfügung. Damit fördert sie die wissenschaftliche und pädagogische Auseinandersetzung mit visuellem Antisemitismus.

Die Sammlung

Die Sammlung Langerman enthält über 8000 visuelle Antisemitika aus vier Jahrhunderten und beinahe allen europäischen Ländern, den USA, dem Iran und Nordafrika. Als illustriertes Archiv der Geschichte der Judenfeindschaft stellt sie einen weltweit einzigartigen Quellenfundus dar.

Über den Stifter

Der belgische Holocaust-Überlebende Arthur Langerman sammelt seit über einem halben Jahrhundert judenfeindliche Bilder verschiedenster Art. Er sieht in ihnen entscheidende Wegbereiter des nationalsozialistischen Judenmords und eine Warnung an heutige und zukünftige Generationen.

Kuratorium

Das Kuratorium der Arthur Langerman Foundation entscheidet über die strategische Entwicklung des „Arthur Langerman Archivs für die Erforschung des visuellen Antisemitismus“ (ALAVA). Seine Mitglieder, zu denen auch der Stifter gehört, gewährleisten die Erfüllung der Stiftungsziele.

Ich möchte, dass meine Sammlung praktisch genutzt wird, um über die Geschichte und die Gefahren des Antisemitismus aufzuklären – durch wissenschaftliche Forschung, durch Bildungsarbeit und durch Ausstellungen.

Arthur Langerman, 2020

Arthur Langerman Archiv für die Erforschung des visuellen Antisemitismus

Um die Ziele der Arthur Langerman Foundation umzusetzen, wird am Zentrum für Antisemitismusforschung der Technischen Universität Berlin das „Arthur Langerman Archiv für die Erforschung des visuellen Antisemitismus“ (ALAVA) aufgebaut. Seine Mitarbeiter*innen übernehmen die wissenschaftlichen, organisatorischen und administrativen Aufgaben der Arthur Langerman Foundation und sind für die Aufbewahrung, Erweiterung, Erforschung und Bereitstellung sowie für alle Fragen zur pädagogischen Nutzung der Sammlung Langerman zuständig.

Arthur Langerman Archiv für die Erforschung des visuellen Antisemitismus

Um die Ziele der Arthur Langerman Foundation umzusetzen, wird am Zentrum für Antisemitismusforschung der Technischen Universität Berlin das „Arthur Langerman Archiv für die Erforschung des visuellen Antisemitismus“ (ALAVA) aufgebaut. Seine Mitarbeiter*innen übernehmen die wissenschaftlichen, organisatorischen und administrativen Aufgaben der Arthur Langerman Foundation und sind für die Aufbewahrung, Erweiterung, Erforschung und Bereitstellung sowie für alle Fragen zur pädagogischen Nutzung der Sammlung Langerman zuständig.

Objekt des Semesters

Jedes Semester präsentiert die Arthur Langerman Foundation an dieser Stelle ein Bild, eine Karikatur oder einen anderen Gegenstand aus dem „Arthur Langerman Archiv für die Erforschung des visuellen Antisemitismus“. Anhand der Objekte des Semesters setzen wir uns kritisch mit spezifischen Motiven, Topoi, Materialien und Erscheinungsformen des visuellen Antisemitismus auseinander, erläutern ihre historischen Hintergründe und skizzieren ihre Bedeutung und Entwicklung in Geschichte und Gegenwart. Damit wollen wir auf die Rolle judenfeindlicher Darstellungen für die Verbreitung, Verankerung und den Fortbestand antisemitischer Vorurteile und Verschwörungsfantasien aufmerksam machen und das Bewusstsein für visuelle Stereotype schärfen. Zugleich geben wir auf diese Weise Einblicke in unsere diversen Bestände, weisen auf Forschungspotenziale hin und hoffen, das Interesse zukünftiger Archivnutzer*innen zu wecken.

Im Gespräch mit Arthur Langerman

error: Content is protected !!